Remind me why I’m doing this?

So I think this is my first posting but can’t be sure as I’m doing it on my phone and getting lost in the WordPress app… Haven’t done this for a while and I’m getting pages and posts mixed up. How amateur… 

I wanted my first post to explain why I am doing this. Why I have started this blog. Perhaps I should start with the name which in hindsight sounds like a really bad t-shirt brand… But had such lofty aspirations. 

I have two young children (3 and one and a half) and amongst the million things regarding them that race through my mind every second of every day, are the big things. What will happen to them? What will they be like when they grow up? When I grow up even? And the really big one I ask myself all time: what do I want them to be? What’s the most important thing in life I could teach them or help them to be? I decided I couldn’t narrow it down to one and that I was allowed two. 

They were, fearless and kind.

Fearless is not the same as brave, which is very different. I specifically wish for my children to live without fear; which of course is highly ambitious. But what I mean is, to not feel so much fear (as I sometimes do) – about the world around them (evil people, war etc etc) and the thoughts in their head (I’m never going to be good enough, I’m not happy enough, shit is this really it.? – I could go on.) 

And kind. Which is quite naff. But what I think actually makes the world go round and not love. Controversial I know. However, if you think of it this way: not everyone gets so lucky and finds love in their life or even had it to begin with. But what everyone has definitely been on the receiving end of, and always has the potential to offer up to the universe is, kindness. Plus it is never damaging. Love frequently is. That’s not to say I don’t want my children to experience love. It’s just that I think love comes regardless (usually via dumb luck) but kindness you can make happen no matter whatever life throws at you. That’s what I want to get across. That’s the vibe I’m going for.

So I’ve covered the name. And typed too much on a phone for one night… But at least I’ve made a start and sometimes it doesn’t have to be perfect, it just has to exist. Which is the first very useful lesson I would like to pass on. 

But in a nutshell, I’m going to use this blog as a place to collect my thoughts on anything that I think my children might eventually find useful/inspiring/funny/interesting/other. It may very well end up being nothing more than my ramblings and rantings but you never know, they might just learn something about life or at the very least, a lot about me.

Good night.

X

– Right so this wasn’t my first post. It was a PAGE. Which is something I can play with until I get right and it become’s a permanent feature that is easy to find to refer to. Gotcha. And the posts will all be the letters I write to Leo and Miller in the order in which I write them. OK.

Leave a Reply

